Security Management - Groups

Groups

Build a group to connect the teammates and share common sets of records.

A group is a set of users. It includes an individual user or can also include a combination of different users, roles, roles, and subordinates or other groups within an organization. With groups, you can build teams to share a common set of records.

Key Features

The “Assigned To” field in any module lets you assign a record, either to an individual user or a group of users. When records are assigned to a group, all members associated with that group can access and perform operations on the record. This will help your users to work together as a team.

For instance, If a support team member is on leave for the day, there is a chance that trouble ticket (case) assigned to him will not be resolved in time. You can decide whether the ticket to be assigned to a group so that all members associated with the group will get an email notification and anyone can handle that issue.

A group supports following combinations

  1. Users: Admin can select Users to be a part of the group. E.g., Support Group
  2. Roles: All users associated with a role consist of a group. E.g., Sales Reps
  3. Roles and Subordinates: All users associated with the role, and its subordinates consist of a group.
  4. Group: All users associated with the selected group can be part of another group.
Note! Groups will also help you to define custom sharing rules. You can define sharing rules to make a certain role, role and subordinates, or a group view records of another role, role and subordinates, or a group, respectively.

Creating Groups

You can create different groups to manage common set of operations within your organization

Follow few simple steps to create a group

  1. Hover on icon and click Settings
  2. Click Groups under User Management
  3. Click
  4. Provide label, description, and select appropriate entities as members of the group. Colors are illustrated to differentiate entities

  1. Click Save to update changes.

Editing Groups

This feature enables you to modify existing groups to meet your requirements. Follow few simple steps to edit a group:

  1. In the list view of groups, click on a pencil icon of the desired group
  2. Modify fields
  3. Click Save to update changes

Deleting Groups

Delete any existing group if it doesn’t meet your requirements.

  1. In the list view of groups, click on recycle bin icon of the desired group
  2. Transfer privileges to another existing group
  3. Click Save to update changes.