Security Management - Profiles

Profiles

Profiles are used to control the user actions on CRM records. In addition, profiles can be used to restrict the users from accessing specific modules, fields, and tools such as import, export, etc.

When a profile is associated to a role, the access rights defined in the profile is applied across all users in with the associated role.

Note! Users in the role of an upper hierarchy can always view records of users belonging to the roles in the lower hierarchy.

Only users with Admin permission has the rights to set up the Profiles for other users.

Step 1: Creating Profiles

  1. Hover on icon and click Settings
  2. Click Profiles under User Management
  3. Click on top right corner
  4. Provide Profile Name and Description. (These fields are only for your reference)

  1. Define privileges for your profile. (We will discuss this in next step)
  2. Click Save

Step 2: Defining Permissions

You can set fine-grained access control on what users can access and perform actions on Modules, Fields and tools such as Import, Export, Duplicates Handling, etc. Additionally, you can also promote or revoke access to View, Edit, Create, and Delete operations on fields and modules in BzCRM.

Disable or enable the highlighted checkboxes to revoke or grant access to appropriate operation (View, Create, Edit, Delete) on all available modules in BzCRM. For instance, if you do not want your sales reps to delete records, you can uncheck Delete checkbox. As a result, your sales reps are able to create/edit and view records but can’t delete.

Edit privileges for this profile

You have Create and Edit permission separately in Profiles, you can provide create permission to a user and restrict him from editing the records and vice versa.

To disable permissions on a specific module, you’ll need to uncheck the checkbox under the corresponding tab. For instance, if you don’t want your support team to delete Calendar, you’ll have to uncheck the Delete checkbox corresponding to Calendar module.

Defining Permissions on Fields and Tools

Profiles also enable you to define access permissions on the fields and tools: Import, Export, Duplicates Handling, Print, etc., that are available within those modules. To define privileges, you have to click on the drop-down under ‘Field and Tool Privileges’ of your desired module.

Under the ‘Tools’ section, click on checkboxes to enable/disable the corresponding feature like Import, Export and Duplicate Handling.

Use the toggle button to define privileges for the desired fields.

  1. The Green color represents Write permission. It means a user can be able to edit and modify the value in the fields.
  2. The Orange color represents Read Only permission. It means a user can only view but cannot make any modifications on the field value.
  3. The Black color represents invisible. It means the field is completely hidden and not visible for the users with this profile.

Step 3: Assigning Users to a Profile

Profiles cannot be directly linked with users. You’ll need to associate a profile with a role; as a result, privileges are affected to all users with that role.

Here’s how to do it.

  1. Hover on icon and click Settings
  2. Click Roles under User Management
  3. Select desired role and select corresponding profile

Notes!
  • You can associate multiple users and profiles for the same role.
  • When you associate multiple users for the same role, the users under that role will not be able to see each other's records if Sharing Rule is set to private.
  • A role always works with respect to Profiles and Sharing Access.
  • Sales insights and Support Insights sections in BzCRMr do not respect “Field level restrictions” in the Profile. Though the fields such as Amount, Sales Stages, etc., are restricted in Profiles, the users who are given access permission to Sales and Support Insights can view these fields.
  • Deleting a Profile

    If existing profiles do not meet your requirements, you can delete them right away. Before deleting, responsibilities of that profile should be transferred to another existing profile.

    Follow few simple steps to delete an existing profile.

    1. In the list view of Profiles, click Trash icon to the right of your desired profile

    1. In the popup, transfer responsibilities to another existing profile

    1. Click Save